Guantanamo: My Journey, by David Hicks

In Australia, David Hicks and Guantanamo Bay are controversial topics lately, as David Hicks, and Australian man found guilty of providing material support to terrorism (as stated by Wikipedia) by the US Government. Hicks was released from Guantanamo in 2007 and finished his sentence in an Australian prison before being released in December that year. He has since released an auto-biography titled Guantanamo: My Journey.

I’m not writing this post to start a debate on terrorism, or Guantanamo, or whether Hicks really is guilty or not, but I want to share with you just how awesome his book is.

I copped a lot of criticism for wanting to read his book, most of it along the lines of “you’ll be supporting terrorism!” so I borrowed it out from the library.

I loved it.

The first part of the autobiography reads like a travel diary. Hicks details his journeys around the world, from central Australia and Eastern Europe, to Japan and Afghanistan. I thought part one would be boring, but I got really sucked into it, to the extent like I felt like I was really there.

Part one ends with Hicks being captured by Afghan militants and sold to the US military. The second part describes Hicks’ time in Guantanamo, from his trial to his alleged torture.

The writing style of the book was great, and I think Hicks missed his calling as an author. The descriptions made me feel as if I was actually there and the voice was friendly and inviting.

I loved this book and found it really interesting. I’m not sure if/where it’s available in the US, but it should be available in Australia in all department stores in libraries. It was a fascinating read and definitely recommend it, even if you only read part one.

One Response to Guantanamo: My Journey, by David Hicks

  1. Lucy says:

    Hi Little Scribbler. I just wanted to thank you for having an open mind and reading my book, especially when you were being encouraged not to, and being told that you would be supporting terrorism (which is ridiculous!). It is important that the second half of the book is not forgotten- you don’t have to write ‘alleged torture’ anymore. As you will see in the endnotes, it has even been admitted by the Bush administration that they water boarded people, and it has been confirmed by former guards and law enforcement agencies that all of us in Guantanamo were tortured. I really appreciate your courage to write this post. My wife told me this quote by Martin Luther King Jr. when she read your post, ‘The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.’, and you are truly courageous.

Leave a Reply

