Getting the Idea

As I said on Monday, I recently found some work I did in Year Four, on the topic of authors. On Monday, I shared with you what a good author looks like, and today I’m going to share a few more notes from my Year Four work. In this post, I’ll be looking at some ways we can find ideas if Writers Block strikes (which stems from how authors get their ideas).

Interview People: Talk to your friends, your family, etc, and learn about any adventures they may have had. Even a small tale they’ve had might spark an idea.

Watch People: This is fun to do. Watch  people think about what they might be talking about. Look at their actions. Try and write a story about their conversation.

Real Life Events: Remember that time you… Even mundane  events in your life could spark a bit of inspiration.

Art: Paintings can be inspiring. You may remember how I planned on writing some short stories based off a picture. I’ll get to it one day. Look at a picture, and try to imaging what could be happening in it.

Eavesdropping: I’m the self-acclaimed King of Eavesdropping. I do it all the time. I can’t help it. Particularly on the bus. People seem to like to recount their adventures from the weekend, and I listen.

Leave a Reply

