A Good Writer (According to My 9 Year Old Self)

It’s spring cleaning in my household, and as I was cleaning out my cupboard, I found some old school books, dating back to Year One.

I was looking through them, and came across a unit of work from Year Four, about writers and illustrators. One page described an author.

According to my work, a writer had…

…A large head to accommodate a big brain which was used for getting good ideas

…Large eyes for watching people

…Big ears for listening to other people’s conversations

…Flexible hands for typing and writing.

I drew all those features up into a painting application and got…

Clearly, drawing isn't one of my talents...

Luckily, writers don’t have to be super hot.

Tell me, what features should a good writer have?

5 Responses to A Good Writer (According to My 9 Year Old Self)

  1. wendy says:

    What a delightful post. Love the wee drawing 🙂

    My thoughts on the matter: Writers should have skin as thick as an elephants rump – the tenacity of bulldogs – and the patience of Saints …

    And lastly, the mind of an inquisitive child 🙂

  2. Wendy: I’m glad you like the drawing! Thick skin is certainly something all writers should have. Thanks for your comment!

  3. […] I said on Monday, I recently found some work I did in Year Four, on the topic of authors. On Monday, I shared with […]

  4. OMG, put a beard and glasses on that guy and it’s me to a tee! This is spooky!

Leave a Reply

