Why do you put a Book Down?

Following on from Wednesday’s post on Putting the Book Down, I thought I’d ask the primary reason for putting the book down.

As far as I can remember, I’ve only lost interest in two books. The first was a few years back, and although I can’t recall the title, it was a spy-thriller. I also can’t remember the exact reason for putting it down. One day, I simply finished a chapter, put the book down, and never opened it again. The next day, I began reading something else. I guess it was the plot I didn’t like. I must have gotten bored. I’m also guessing the prose was a factor, because I recall that the writing wasn’t all that sophisticated.

You heard about the second book I put down. I couldn’t stand the writing in this one either. So again, prose was the reason I put the book down.

What about you? In the comments, tell me why you put books down.

3 Responses to Why do you put a Book Down?

  1. Merrilee says:

    Poor writing, mostly. That covers the gamut of many things, but basically, if the author hasn’t written something new and compelling, I put the book down.

  2. Mia says:

    Typically because of poor writing or my lack of interest in the story.

  3. Merrilee, Mia: I agree with you both. Thanks for your comments.

Leave a Reply

