July Noticeboard

So. August is here… already. 2010 has gone super fast. Because, I mean AUGUST already. AUGUST!

Anyway…

I began editing in July, but I’m making slow progress. I’m currently in Stage One: Initial Read Over. I’m reading through each chapter and taking notes. So far, I’m up to chapter four. Like I said, slow progress.

My July goal were to write some short stories, which I did not get done. I tried starting some one, but it fell flat. It didn’t capture my attention. I think it has potential, but right now, I just don’t feel like writing it. I also had more ideas, but nothing exciting enough to find time to put my ideas to paper.

I don’t have any goals for August. I don’t want to feel like I’m pressuring myself by telling myself I have to progress to a certain point in edits. I don’t think it should work like that – editing will take as long as it needs to be complete.

How was your month?

2 Responses to July Noticeboard

  1. Mia says:

    I can’t believe it’s August, either. Time has a way of fading away without us realizing it.

    Well, on July 5Th, I started my new (third) book and got to 47K. I’m kind of burnt out with that book, though. It’s been giving me a lot of stress. So I’m going to put it aside for now. It was a hard decision for me, because I’m afraid I’ll never finish it, but I think it’s the right thing to do. Plus, I’m not just going to ignore almost 50K of a book 😉

    Starting yesterday, I started editing my second book. I’m in the read through stage right now, making notes of plot and character issues that need changing.

  2. As far as writing goes, my month was probably as productive as yours. I ditched my WIP for the time being because I can’t be bothered changing the POV and I don’t like it the way it is. I worked on a few other previously abandoned projects before finally coming across one that caught my interest and now I’m back in the initial plot outline stage and ready to start over. One step forward after many steps backward.

Leave a Reply

