Reading What You Write

I’m writing an adventure novel which focuses on Atlantis. Because of that, I tend to read books which also deal with Atlantis. My justification was that by reading those books, I could get an idea on what other authors write about the mythical island.

But, recently, I’ve been having other thoughts. Perhaps by reading other Atlantis books, I’m subconsciously inserting the author’s ideas into my own work.

What are your thoughts on the matter? Do you read novels which have similar ideas to your own, or do you stear clear of them? Let me know in the comments.

One Response to Reading What You Write

  1. Mia says:

    I try to read suspense novels (the genre I write), so I can learn from the pros and see how I can apply certain things to my own writing. I haven’t read many novels like mine, so I don’t think I’m copying ideas from the books I read. Still, definitely something to think about 🙂

Leave a Reply

