This and That

1. Sorry I’ve been quite around the web. I’ve been quite busy with homework and the like, and haven’t had a chance to think of, or write, blog posts. With luck, I should have more coming soon.

2. I’m getting published.  Not a major piece of work like my WIP, but a short story I entered. I thought it was a competition within my school, but it turns out it was Australia wide! Out of all the thousands of entry which must have been received, the judges chose my entry to publish along with more (I’m not sure how many other stories. Fifty, maybe?) to publish in a book, Something With Bite. I’m really excited. This means I’m one step closer to winning the actual comp. Public thanks to Merrilee Faber who critiqued my story, and stopped me from sending in something very different.

3. Don’t forget to check out The Bookshelf, a page for all my writing. I’ll be posting a few more stories within the next couple of days, and Tweet about it.

9 Responses to This and That

  1. Wendy says:

    That’s great news, Little Scribbler!

    Well done, you 🙂

    And a pat on the back for Merrilee 🙂

  2. Merrilee says:

    You’re welcome Scribs 🙂

  3. Serious congratulations, Scribs! I wonder how many other entrants took it seriously enough to get a critique. There’s a lesson in that about craft and professionalism for us all.

    And you couldn’t have picked a better crit buddy – another sign of talent.

  4. That is fantastic news – congratulations. You’ll have to tell us when it is coming out.

  5. AshN says:

    Congratulations! 😀

  6. Mia says:

    Congratulations on having a short story published! 🙂 That must have made your week.

  7. Feywriter says:

    So cool! Congrats on the short story publication. Good luck with the contest as well.

  8. Cassandra: The book comes out in October, I think.

    Mia: It certainly did make my week. I was really nervous about opening it, b/c I thought it was going to tell me I didn’t win.

    Feywriter: Thanks. The comp is being drawn on the 19 May, so I’ll know soon. I’m keeping my fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

