Characters

I was planning on running the rest of the series on the important aspects of writing, but unfortunatly, with all the school stuff I’ve had to do, I haven’t had time to write the posts. Therefore, this will most likely be my last post until the end of November. But anyway, on with the post…

According to Google, a character is simply a “fictional character: an imaginary person represented in a work of fiction”. However, I would expand that definition to include any being or thing with human qualities.
Characters are important aspects in novels, because they’re what readers have to love. If the readers love your characters, they will read your book. To make readers love your characters, the characters must be believable.

When creating believable characters, the first thing you must do is consider what story you’re writing, and the purpose of your character. The character must be able to do what is required of them. They should be physically and mentally able to complete the task. However, do not make them perfect. Doing this will take away from the believability of the character. After all, no one is perfect. Everyone has flaws, and so must your characters. Having flaws can help with the plot – it can provide tension, which makes a better story.

You should get to know your characters. One way to do this is by have a character outline. There are heaps out there, but the one I use (and am very happy with) comes from here. Fill out all the details as well as you can (see an example here), and you’ll come to know your characters really well with time.

I’ve written a few blog posts about characters throughout the year. You can read a post I did a while ago about Mary Sues, the perfect character. If you specifically want to know about antagonists, check out Making Bad Guys Bad part one and part two. Another post I’ve done is on Outsiders, the character your reader can relate to.

5 Responses to Characters

  1. Thanks for this post.

  2. You’re welcome. I’m glad you liked it.

  3. Thanks for this Scribs. I followed your link to the Damien character profile. I’d never thought of doing anything so detailed for a character but I may well use that profile and experiment a bit for my next book.

  4. I’m glad you like the link. I use that as a basic template, then add and take away parts as required.

  5. K.M. Weiland says:

    Characters are the heart of fiction. Great plots can only go so far without great characters. Excellent character interview links! I haven’t seen such in-depth examples in a long time. I’m going to have to mine them for questions I don’t already have on my own version.

Leave a Reply

