Snip Snip

A couple of days ago, I took an estimate of how large my WIP would be once completed. I had 33 chapters, and had the assumption that each chapter would be 3000 words long exactly (of course, the  chapters would end up being larger than the assumption, but for the estimate, it would do). So I did the calculations, and came up with 102,000 words. Yikes!

Since then, I’ve been examining my WIP, looking for any chapter that can go. So far, I’ve managed to cut four chapters, which brings the estimate down to 87,000. A shame, because that meant cutting a scene I really liked. I tried to find a way for it to be needed, but, nope. I can’t use it even if I wanted to because of a few changes I made to the overall plot to fix up where the taken out chapters are.

What about you? What are your estimates for you WIP? Have you had to do this?

8 Responses to Snip Snip

  1. Feywriter says:

    I have about ten scenes I cut during editing at various stages. I have them saved in a “cut scenes” file. They are hard to give up. I’m impressed you were able to cut so much. Good job.

  2. Merrilee says:

    Well done on the cutting!

    I usually find I will start with too few chapters in the planning stage, and add ones along the way as they are needed.

  3. Merrilee: When I wrote the plan, I added as much as I could to get it novel size. However, now I know I added too much

  4. beth says:

    Nope, I don’t have any stories like that! I don’t outline, so I don’t know how long the story will be until I get there. But recently, my YA was almost 95k words, and I trimmed it down to 80k.

  5. I actually have a spreadsheet that, based on my running average wordcount and my planned end date (very important for me to have an end date!) forecasts my final wordcount. At the moment, my current WIP is coming in almost 20K under plan (because I’ve been so slow). So the other useful thing my spreadsheet does is calculate the average daily wordcount needed for me to get back on plan before the end date.

  6. Graham Storrs: Sounds like a pretty cool spreadsheet. Thanks for stopping by.

  7. I recently finished the outline for the novel I plan to write for NaNoWriMo, and I estimate that it’ll be somewhere around 85,000 words. Which obviously may change in the writing process, but still. I’ve never written that much on a story before, I’m excited to see how it works out!

  8. Ohsosqueamish: I’ve never written 85K on a story either – I keep stopping and starting. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

