May Noticeboard

I wasn’t to productive, writing wise, this month. Sure, I started out well, but then I hit a bump. I realized my villain in PT had no motivation, so I had to spend the second half of the month figuring out why the villain wanted to weapon. I’ve now got a fair idea, but still a little unsure. I’ll talk more about it below. Anyway, I revamped the plot, and it’s just about done – just been taking a break so I can decide how to add a scene I want. Plus, I have two 1000 word essay due next week…

Poseidon‘s Trident:
Current Chapter in First Draft (Typed) Stage:
7/42
Current Chapter in Edit Stage: None
Pages this Month: 4.5
Pages Overall: 33.5

Daniel Fox:
Current Story in Rough Draft Stage:
To Kill A Killer
Current Story in Edit Stage: None

The problem I’m having with PT is villain motivation – I have no idea why he wants the weapon so bad. I asked it on Twitter, and received only one reply. To control governments. You can help expand that answer by answer the following question:

“Why would you kill to gain control of a mythological weapon that could: Create/dry up water sources; and cause earthquakes, which would cause tsunamis (strong enough to wreck entire cities)?”

Leave your answers below in the comments section =)

Goals for May:

  • Finish the tally systemYes. All done
  • Stocktake Yep.
  • Take TKAK off hold – Kind of… I worked on it at the beginning, but I was forgotten when the villain problem arose.
  • Keep working on PT – No. As I said, working on that problem.


Goals for June:

  • Take TKAK of hold (again)
  • Finish plot of PT
  • Work on PT
  • Begin edits on TF

I’m trying something new this month – I’m going to explain what’s coming up.

Later this week:
A two-part poll on you.
Next week: Another article, this one on tips for good dialogue. If you missed the first article on dialogue, click here to visit it. Feel free to comment still.
Book Blog: Angels and Demons. I want to compare it to the movie as well.
End of the month/Early July: Some polls regarding feedback – what you enjoy about this blog.

Well, there you have it. Something for every week of the month. Before I go, don’t forget to have ago at the question, and it would be much appreciated.

Always Writing,

Little Scribbler

2 Responses to May Noticeboard

  1. kasie says:

    It’s hard to come up with villain motivation. It’s like, he’s bad, that’s why. LOL But, let’s see, why would he want this weapon? He could definitely use it to control and blackmail people/governments. Or He could make all of civilization (or certain groups or cities) dependent on him if he could dry up water sources. He is obviously after power. Power for people to be dependent on him. If he say, dried up a river source without someone knowing it was him, then he could pretend to be the “hero” by bringing it back. Or maybe he could start claiming he could predict natural calamities. Nations would revere this supposed “prophet” but really he was the one creating the calamaties. Anyway, just some thoughts. You’ll figure it out.

  2. Good ideas. I was thinking of blackmail too. Thanks for your thoughts =)

Leave a Reply

