WANTED: One Plot

For a while now, I’ve had a story nagging to come out and onto paper. Finally, I’ve agreed to its conditions: I write it,  and it stops nagging. I’ve got just about everything – characters, subplots, a map. Only thing I don’t have is a plot.

I mean, I know what will happen in the story, just not the overall plot, in one sentence. If you don’t get what I mean, think of Lord of the Rings. The overall goal in one sentence is “Character returns the Ring to Mount Doom”. That’s pretty much what happens in a nutshell. Except, my story doesn’t have one…

I’ve tried to make like a mind map, to help me. Basically:

  • King is murdered (or assassinated, I suppose…)
  • Why? To send kingdom into chaos
  • Why? So enemy (who assassinated him) can take over kingdom.

That’s about as far as I’ve made it. I’ve been wondering why this enemy wants to take over this kingdom (which is very little. There’s a much larger one next door), so I’ve been thinking that perhaps the enemy wants some powerful weapon hidden in the little kingdom, so it can take over the larger kingdom. Or perhaps the enemy just wants a base to attack the larger kingdom. But then, why does the enemy want the larger kingdom??? Please leave your thoughts and suggestions.

Once I have that all done, I can write out the plan, and get writing.

Always Writing,

Little Scribbler

4 Responses to WANTED: One Plot

  1. It sounds like you’re trying to figure out the villain’s motivation, so I’d suggest developing the villain’s personality and see what makes him tick. What’s his situation in the story? What’s his relationship to the king? Is he the type of character that lusts after power enough to murder the king and take the throne for himself? Or is he a traitor, working for the larger kingdom in its plot to conquer the smaller kingdom?

    Once you know the villain’s motives, you’ll likely know how they will affect the plot. If you’re still stumped, I’d suggest looking at world history for inspiration — there’s nothing quite like learning the various ways people scheme, succeed and fail to conquer each other. 😀

  2. Thanks for the advice. I will do that

  3. kasie says:

    Yes, I agree with Saint. You could also try writing out a few scenes from your villain’s point of view. It will help you understand him more. Sometimes the act of just staring your story will help you learn more of the intricacies of the world and the motivations will reveal themselves.

  4. Looks to me the reason you don’t have a plot is that you don’t have a motivation for the main character, only a series of events. The death of a king and the actions of a villain mean nothing if the main character is not affected personally.

Leave a Reply

