The Name Game

I’ve started and stopped so many novels featuring Lily Gunn, it’s just  not funny. I’ve discovered major plot holes, revamped the plot, and started again.
However, I’ve vowed that this is it. I WILL NOT START AND STOP.
To make sure everything was in order, I’ve made changes to the MC, to make her better. It’s all good. The only thing I’m not happy with is her surname.
To try and find some, I googled “list of English surnames”. There were several I liked, but one stood out. Ashford. I liked the name, Lily Ashford. Sounded nice. Just for fun I googled Lily Ashford, and I was shocked to find out that there is an erotic romance author with the name of Lily Ashford.

So I kept looking, and narrowed it down to three. This is where I need your help. I’d love for you to leave a comment of which surname you think I should have. It has to be a noble name. Something fit for a countess. Something that goes well with “Lady Lily…” and “Lily…”.
Here are my choices:

  • Alington
  • Arlington
  • Ashwood

If you have any other suggestions, I’d love to hear from you.

Always Writing,

Little Scribbler

6 Responses to The Name Game

  1. Feywriter says:

    It’s smart to google potential MC names. The original name for one of the characters in my current WIP was the same name as an online teen stripper. Yay for google saving me on that one.

    I like Lily Ashwood. It sounds very nice and proper, and earthy. Arlington reminds me of a city name.

  2. lynn says:

    I like Ashwood also, with Arlington coming in second. I’ve definitely had the erotic-romance-author-took-my-name moment too!

  3. Agnes says:

    Lily Ashwood sounds great.

  4. I’m also a fan of “Lily Ashwood”; it rolls off the tongue nicely.

  5. Anna says:

    It doesn’t matter if you chose the same name as someone else did if you have a reason for it?

    I like Ashwood.

  6. Anna says:

    What about Guinn instead of Gunn?

Leave a comment