How I Have Changed + Character Description

It’s funny, looking back in my writing career, how much I’ve changed. When I first started writing (back in ‘05), I was working on a (pathetically stupid) novel titled “Inside Job”. Oh, the stupidity! Looking back, I cringe at how the characters did not think to check on the employee who had seen the doctor, and turned up just after the robbery; and how one of the cops, who came close to being hit by a speeding car, could have to spend close to a week in hospital being treated for shock, then not be able to remember an important detail. Cringe!
I’ve also changed in the way I create my story plans and character descriptions. The story plan was merely dotpoints, so:

Chapter One:

  • Bomb Threat

Chapter Two:

  • Bomb Threat (Continued)


Chapter Seventeen:

  • Go to suspects house
  • Search it
  • Cant find evidence

You get the point.

The character descriptions were just as bad:

  • Name is Julie Narm
  • Blue eyes
  • Red hair
  • Likes Jacob
  • Has doll collection

Fortunatly, I have changed (lots).

Story plans are now full paragraphs explaining what happens. Eg:

CHAPTER TWO:
Lily is working on a dig near London, when she is told news of her fathers death. She races to Gunn Manor, where Lord Gunn’s death is confirmed. Lily breaks down in tears.

The character descriptions have changed as well. I use a template I got of Writing.com (or, WDC as it is called by members). I would copy and paste it here, but that might be considered theft/ plagiarism. So here’s the link. Check it out. If you have another template you use, send me a comment – I’d love to see it. Oh, and don’t be afraid to comment. I don’t bite (seriously). If you have something to say, anything, just comment. I’d love to hear from you.

Always Writing,

Little Scribbler

Leave a Reply

