Chapter Summery

I finished chapter two a few days ago, but this is my first chance to post it. “Where is the first chapter summery?” you may ask. Well, it hasn’t been written yet. You see, chapter one is like an excerpt of later in the book. Or, instead of a flashback, it is a flashforward. If that makes any sense.

Anyway, Chapter Two is a little over 1 400 words (9 over to be exact), and takes place on the 18th of October in England. In the chapter, Lily, the MC (main character) is working at an archaeological dig, when she receives news of her father’s death. An excerpt (well, two) for you to enjoy:

“Lily stiffened. She hadn’t seen her father in a while. Not since her birthday, in July. She had moved out of home four years ago, when she was 19, to live in London and study archaeology at the London University, much to her father’s dismay. She had lived with Sam in an apartment block in London, seeing her father only seven or eight times a year. She did call regularly though.

And…

“‘I’m afraid I come with bad news.’ Brown replied. ‘Lady, Miss Gunn, there’s no easy way to say this, so I’ll be straightforward.’ Brown took a deep breath. ‘I’m sorry to say that your father has been… killed. I’m so sorry.’
‘What?!’ Lily yelped.
‘I’m sorry.’ Brown repeated. ‘There’s not much other I can tell you, except that the plane he was on exploded in midair over the English Channel. No bodies have been identified, but there are no survivors.’”

I hope you liked it. As I said above, the word count is 1409 words. Would you consider this to be average” length? Please tell me, through the comment box, what you consider average length for a chapter. Would I have to add another chapter to Chapter Two, or beef it out? In addition, was Inspector Brown’s death call realistic? Is that how a police officer would break the news? Please comment. Any other feedback would be lovely.

Always Writing,

Little Scribbler

2 Responses to Chapter Summery

  1. Eh, I consider an average chapter length to be whatever feels right. If you want a less wishy-washy guideline, though, I’ve heard that it’s around the 3,000 mark for fiction, but can be shorter in young adult fiction.

    Yay, excerpts! 🙂

    Reading the excerpt with the police officer, I have to wonder (although I may just be missing something, since I’ve got only a small excerpt to work on): why does he say Lily’s father was killed when he died during a plane explosion? I’m assuming they’re at an early point in their investigation if they’re still ocntacting victims’ family members, so wouldn’t he just say her father had died or something less suspicious until they’ve found further evidence of foul play? Actually, since none of the bodies are identified, he’d most likely tell Lily that her father is presumed dead, rather than state a fact that they can’t back up.

  2. Thanks Saint Know-all. You’ve given me something to think about regard the police scene, and I’m probably going to rewrite that bit. Maybe in doing that, I can increase the wordcount.

Leave a Reply

